Home Latest News 10-man shortlist for 2019 Puskas Award revealed

10-man shortlist for 2019 Puskas Award revealed

FIFA have released their 10-man shortlist for the annual Puskas Award, which is given to the player who scored the most spectacular goal of the season.

Andros Townsend has made the shortlist for his outstanding strike against Manchester City last season. Townsend starred as Crystal Palace inflicted a defeat on Pep Guardiola’s side at the Etihad Stadium.

Lionel Messi, Zlatan Ibrahimovic nominated for Puskas Award

Former Manchester United striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic also finds a spot on the shortlist. Zlatan is renowned for scoring spectacular goals and he lived up to his reputation with a stunning scissor kick for LA Galaxy against Toronto FC.

The goal was also the Swede’s 500th in professional football, making it all the sweeter.

No list is ever complete with Barcelona superstar and five-time Ballon d’Or winner Lionel Messi. The Argentine has been nominated for his cheeky finish against Real Betis in La Liga, which completed his hat-trick and secured his side a 4-1 win.

Cliftonville Ladies’ Billie Simpson produced a stunning effort in an NIFL Premiership game last season as well. Simpson scored from her own half and her effort has also gotten her on the shortlist for the 2019 Puskas Award.

Voting closes on September 1st.

The entire 10-man shortlist for the 2019 Puskas Award is given below:

Matheus Cunha: Bayer Leverkusen vs RB Leipzig [Bundesliga] (6 April 2019)

Zlatan Ibrahimovic: Toronto vs LA Galaxy [MLS] (15 September 2018)

Lionel Messi: Real Betis vs Barcelona [La Liga] (17 March 2019)

Ajara Nchout: Cameroon vs New Zealand [FIFA Women’s World Cup] (20 June 2019)

Fabio Quagliarella: Sampdoria vs Napoli [Serie A] (2 September 2018)

Juan Fernando Quintero: River Plate vs Racing Club [Argentinian Superliga] (10 February 2019)

Amy Rodriguez: Utah Royals vs Sky Blue [NWSL] (16 June 2019)

Billie Simpson: Sion Swifts Ladies vs Cliftonville Ladies [Women’s NIFL Premiership] (9 August 2018)

Andros Townsend: Manchester City vs Crystal Palace [Premier League] (22 December 2018)

Daniel Zsori: Debrecen vs Ferencvaros [Nemzeti Bajnoskag I] (16 February 2019)